• Français
  • English

The LabEx EHNE

Created in 2012 as part of the Investissements d'avenir, the LabEx EHNE aims to offer a new history of Europe, conceived from a global perspective, and which goes beyond solely institutional aspects. This major project involves many historians who are committed to sharing knowledge and are convinced that the history of Europe is still to be written.

The EHNE digital encyclopedia offers an interdisciplinary approach to the European history of gender, wars, art, circulations and networks, as well as major ideologies and political debates. It is interested in Europe's cultural and religious foundations, and explores the relations between Europe and the rest of the world.

The intersection of these different fields is at the core of this ambitious project, as examining the relations between them not only makes it possible to understand the networks and circulations that fashioned the economic, cultural, social, and political spaces over the centuries, but also to measure the multiple ways in which Europe organized itself, in all of its dimensions.

Intended for citizens, researchers and students, this digital encyclopedia offers teachers from secondary school and higher education a great potential for pedagogical use. The entries, which were written by specialists, are accompanied by illustrations from previously unpublished iconographic collections, along with videos from the collections of the Institut national de l’audiovisuel (INA).

This major project is only at its beginning: in 2019, the encyclopedia will also be available in English, and more than 600 articles will be posted online, offering a renewed knowledge of the history of Europe.

LabEx EHNE Website


Editorial board

Éric Anceau
Alain Beltran
Lucien Bély
Éric Bussière
Virginie Chaillou-Atrous
Olivier Dard
Corine Defrance
Séverin Duc
Christine Gouzi
Stanislas Jeannesson
Mathieu Jestin
Élinor Kelif
Léonard Laborie
Julie Le Gac
Antoine Marès
Hélène Miard-Delacroix
François-Xavier Nérard
Yannick Ripa
Claire Sanderson
Dany Sandron
Olivier Sibre
Christian Wenkel
Tom Williams


Sonia Bledniak


Clémence Blazy

Scientific manager Colbert's collection

Olivier Vayron


Arby Gharibian
Tom Williams

Former members

Arielle Haakenstad
Alexander (Alec) Badenoch
Frédéric Clavert
James Connolly
Delphine Diaz
Corine Doria
Frédéric Foggacci
Anne-Julie Lafaye
Amandine Malivin
Andrea Martignoni
Guia Migani
Clémentine Vidal-Naquet