Anti-Nuclear Activist Circulations in 1970s Europe

Abstract

Mobilizations that seemed to have strong local roots around power-plant construction sites was one of the defining feature of the European anti-nuclear movement in the 1970s. Nevertheless, right from the first major gathering – which took place on French soil, in a town called Fessenheim, in Alsace, less than a mile from the German border – activists’ aspirations to mobilize on a European scale were perceptible. Over the course of the decade, those aspirations matured, but they ran into numerous pitfalls that reined in their scope. Still, the attention that can be paid to transnational circulations and their connections with other causes does allow us to reconsider the dynamic of the European anti-nuclear movement, based in particular on recent developments in the field of historiography devoted to the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Illustration 1 : The “Nuclear Power? No Thanks” logo, created in 1975 by a Danish activist, was soon translated into many other languages and spread quickly around Europe and then the world. Source: Wikimedia Common.
Illustration 1 : The “Nuclear Power? No Thanks” logo, created in 1975 by a Danish activist, was soon translated into many other languages and spread quickly around Europe and then the world. Source: Wikimedia Common.

On April 12, 1971, some 1,000 participants in the demonstration against the proposed construction of the Fessenheim nuclear power plant launched a wave of protest against the civilian use of atomic power. 

Meticulously prepared by activists from Alsace, that first large-scale action soon led to more, especially along the Rhine Valley, where other nuclear-power-plant projects galvanized mobilization in both Germany and Switzerland. Construction sites at Wyhl (Germany) and Kaiseraugst (Switzerland) in particular, were destined to become iconic in the history of the anti-nuclear movements in their respective countries. Although France and Germany seem to have been the movement’s centers of gravity, it would go on to develop essentially without exception – although with varying levels of intensity – not only in all of the countries engaged in harnessing nuclear power, but even in many of their neighbors, where the local populations were concerned about their proximity to the plants. It was in Denmark for example – which had no plans to build a nuclear power plant at the time – that the activist Anne Lund drew the smiling sun logo (ill. 1) as part of the opposition to a Swedish power plant in Bärseback. The logo would go on to be reproduced in millions of copies and to become the symbol of the anti-nuclear movement in Europe and around the world.  

From Local to Transnational

The local dimension of 1970s anti-nuclear struggles is obvious. They seemed always to be rooted around proposed construction sites, and their messages were aimed at local and national authorities. 

But that initial analysis also seems to be at least somewhat misleading. Right from the first major demonstration, in Fessenheim in the spring of 1971, all of the indicators of imminent trans-nationalization could be seen. First, the circulation of information: a brochure sounding the alarm that was distributed to all elected officials inaugurated a type of mobilization based on international scientific monitoring: data from American scientists, who were in the lead on the issue, appeared alongside information from their European counterparts. A second indicator can be seen in actual activists’ participation: in addition to people from Alsace and representatives from many French regions, a handful of foreigners - mostly Germans, as well as some English and Americans – also participated in the demonstration. A few months later, that international contribution led to what would turn out to be a third indicator: national mobilizations joining forces. In December 1971, 47 organizations from West Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, Austria, the Netherlands and Sweden attended a meeting in Strasbourg where they decided to found the first federation of European anti-nuclear committees. The federation would be administered from Vienna, Bremen and Basel. Its “birth announcement,” written in the form of a warning, was aimed at new targets: institutions at the European level and even beyond. The first action confided to Swedish and German members, for instance, was scheduled for the UN Conference on the Environment in Stockholm in June 1972. Other initiatives followed, buoyed up either by the federalist movement or by counter-expertise. Several European and American anti-nuclear organizations were key elements at the Salzburg counter-conference in the spring of 1977. Bringing experts and activists together, it was designed as an anti-nuclear response to the AIEA conference about to be held in the same city. 

The Anti-Nuclear Community Hampered by Borders

One limit to that type of mobilization was the relatively low proportion of activists who could take part, because participation required free time, the ability to travel and language skills that not everyone possessed. For grassroots activists, the distance and the conditions in which information circulated in the 1970s dampened the enthusiasm that could be seen on the isolated occasions at which they gathered. But those initiatives acted as echo chambers and contributed to creating a sense of community, which can be seen in the specialized press that accompanied the movement. The effect was highly mobilizing at a grassroots level, as is shown, among other examples, by the huge gathering to protest Superphénix at Creys-Malville, France, near the border with Switzerland, on July 31 1977. A significant number of German, Swiss and Italian activists (approximately 3,000 out of an estimated total of 60,000) participated. But the day also revealed the limits of cooperation on the anti-nuclear side, which launched the demonstration without having unanimously adopted a strategy. What is more, the French government was extremely hostile to the idea of a united front. Embodied by the prefect of the Isère administrative district, France managed to discredit that front by explicitly comparing the presence of German activists to that of Nazi occupiers. 

Multiple Connections

One distinctive feature of the anti-nuclear movement is that it worked alongside or saw itself as a continuation of other transnational causes that supplied some of their reasoning and ideas for action. That was obviously true for the protest movements against the development of nuclear weapons, which were very active in the 1950s and 1960s in England and West Germany. Most crucially, those movements brought the issue of radioactivity’s intrinsic dangers to the attention of the media. Uncontrolled fallout during testing in the Pacific drew the attention of public opinion to the mutagenic effects of ionizing rays, a question that crystalized concerns at the time. 

Above and beyond those fears related to the technology’s effects on health, the late 1960s and early 1970s brought energy and vitality to the movement that cannot be ignored if one wishes to understand its dynamics. The anti-authoritarian dimension is patent. It is, for example, striking to observe the extent to which phenomena like conscientious objection and opposing nuclear power overlapped in the political paths of activists at the European level. A firm belief in the need to democratize the ability to get one’s message heard, which was seen as being controlled by those who upheld the “technocracy,” was also largely shared. Alternative news media, pirate radio stations, new labor union and libertarian experiences bloomed everywhere. The democratic challenge that managing civil nuclear infrastructure represented was also the subject of best-selling critical investigations in both France (P. Simmonot, Les Nucléocrates, 1978) and Germany (R. Jungk, The Nuclear State, 1977). And finally, the counter-cultural wave also ran through the movement continent wide, through musical phenomena like the folk-music revival whose anti-establishmentarianism could be seen in its rejection of the usual show-business circuits. Through a subtle play of scale, that revival interlocked particularly well with the anti-nuclear movement. They both had a regionalist dimension, which was reflected by traditional folk-music groups like Le Grand Rouge, in France’s Massif Central, and folk singers like Walter Mossmann in the German-speaking zone, when they performed at the summer fêtes that were so typical of the anti-nuclear movement. 

By turning that movement into an archetype of the “new social movements” in his book Prophétie antinucléaire (1979), the sociologist Alain Touraine offered a first analysis of it while it was still taking shape. At the time, he wanted to signify the arrival of a cultural issue on the political scene to the detriment of political struggles. Since then, the relevance of that concept has been constantly debated by both sociologists and historians. The transnational approach, kindled by the development of the field of historiography of the late 1960s-early 1970s, urges us to reconsider that dynamic within a chronological framework, and to re-evaluate what was novel and what was “inherited” within it, in order to better understand both why it “ran out of steam” at the turn of the 1980s, and its legacy, for political ecology, in particular.

Bibliography

Chambru, Mikael, « La protestation antinucléaire autour de Superphénix. Une analyse des dynamiques d’un espace public oppositionnel transnational », in Corinne Doria et Gérard Raulet (dir.), L’espace public européen en question. Histoire et méthodologie, Bruxelles, Peter Lang, 2016, p. 193-210.

Kirchhof, Astrid, Meyer, Jan-Henrick, « Global Protest against Nuclear Power. Transfer and Transnational Exchange in the 1970s and 1980s » special issue, Historical Social Research, vol. 39, n° 1, 2014.

Milder, Stephen, Greening Democracy : The Anti-Nuclear Movement and Political Environmentalism in West Germany and Beyond, 1968-1983, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2017.

Tompkins, Andrew, Better Active than Radioactive ! Anti-Nuclear Protest in 1970s France and West Germany, Oxfrod, Oxford Historical Monographs, 2016.

Vrignon, Alexis, La naissance de l’écologie politique en France, une nébuleuse au cœur des années 68, Rennes, PUR, 2017.


Source URL: https://ehne.fr/encyclopedia/themes/ecology-and-environment/ideas-actors-and-political-practices/anti-nuclear-activist-circulations-in-1970s-europe

Les circulations militantes antinucléaires dans l’Europe des années 1970


Résumé

Le mouvement antinucléaire en Europe se caractérise au cours de la décennie 1970 par des mobilisations qui apparaissent comme fortement ancrées sur le plan local autour des sites de construction des centrales. Dès le premier grand rassemblement, qui a lieu sur le sol français à Fessenheim en Alsace, les aspirations des militants à porter la mobilisation à une échelle européenne sont toutefois perceptibles. Elles mûrissent ensuite au cours de la décennie mais se heurtent à de nombreux écueils qui en limitent la portée. L’attention que l’on peut accorder aux circulations transnationales et à leurs connexions avec d’autres causes permet néanmoins de repenser la dynamique du mouvement antinucléaire en Europe, en s’appuyant notamment sur les développements récents du champ historiographique consacré aux années 1968.

Le logo « nucléaire non merci », crée en 1975 par une jeune militante danoise et rapidement décliné dans de nombreuses langues et connait une diffusion européenne puis mondiale. Source : Wikimedia Common.
Le logo « nucléaire non merci », crée en 1975 par une jeune militante danoise et rapidement décliné dans de nombreuses langues et connait une diffusion européenne puis mondiale. Source : Wikimedia Common.

Le 12 avril 1971, les quelque 1 000 participants à la manifestation d’opposition contre la construction de la centrale de Fessenheim inaugurent une onde de contestation contre l’usage de l’atome civil.

Cette première action d’envergure, minutieusement préparée par des militants alsaciens, connaît très vite des répliques, le long du Rhin en particulier, où d’autres projets de centrale entraînent une mobilisation en Allemagne et en Suisse : les sites de Wyhl et de Kaisergaust notamment, appelés à devenir de véritables lieux de mémoire du mouvement antinucléaire dans leurs pays respectifs. Si la France et l’Allemagne apparaissent comme les centres de gravité du mouvement, il se développe ensuite, sans véritable exception bien qu’avec une intensité inégale, non seulement dans tous les États engagés dans la voie de la nucléarisation, mais aussi dans bon nombre d’États frontaliers où les populations s’inquiètent de la proximité des installations. Ainsi, c’est au Danemark, où aucune construction de centrale n’est alors envisagée, que la jeune activiste Anne Lund dessine le logo du smiling sun dans le contexte de la lutte contre la centrale suédoise de Bärseback. Il est ensuite reproduit à des millions d’exemplaires devenant le symbole du mouvement en Europe et dans le monde.

Du local au transnational

La dimension locale des combats antinucléaires des années 1970 est évidente. Partout, ils semblent s’enraciner autour des sites d’installation des équipements et ciblent en premier lieu des décideurs locaux et nationaux.

Mais ce premier constat apparaît aussi en partie en trompe-l’œil car, dès la première manifestation du printemps 1971 à Fessenheim, tous les marqueurs d’une transnationalisation en gésine sont repérables : celui de la circulation des informations tout d’abord. Une brochure distribuée à tous les élus de la région inaugure une forme de mobilisation fondée sur une veille scientifique internationale : les données des lanceurs d’alerte américains, en pointe sur la question, y côtoient celles de scientifiques européens. Un deuxième marqueur est celui de la participation effective des militants : en plus des Alsaciens et des représentants originaires de nombreuses régions françaises, quelques étrangers, allemands surtout, mais aussi anglais et américains participent à la manifestation. Cette contribution internationale débouche quelques mois plus tard sur ce qui constitue un troisième marqueur : celui de la jonction entre les mobilisations nationales. En décembre 1971, 47 associations venues de RFA, de Suisse, de Belgique, d’Autriche, des Pays-Bas et de Suède se réunissent à Strasbourg et décident de la création d’une première fédération des comités antinucléaires européens administrée depuis Vienne, Brême et Bâle. Son acte de naissance, rédigé sous la forme d’une « mise en garde », cible de nouveaux acteurs comme les institutions européennes, et même au-delà, puisqu’une première action confiée aux membres suédois et allemands est programmée pour le sommet de la Terre de Stockholm en juin 1972. D’autres initiatives prennent ensuite le relais, portées par la mouvance fédéraliste ou la contre-expertise. Plusieurs associations antinucléaires européennes et américaines sont ainsi la cheville ouvrière du contre-sommet de Salzburg au printemps 1977, mêlant experts et militants, destiné à faire le pendant d’une conférence de l’AIEA tenue dans la même ville.

La communauté antinucléaire à l’épreuve des frontières

Une limite à cette forme de mobilisation est la relative faible proportion des militants qui peuvent y prendre part car elle suppose une disponibilité, une mobilité et des aptitudes linguistiques que tous ne possèdent pas. Pour la base militante, l’éloignement et les conditions de circulation de l’information dans les années 1970 freinent l’enthousiasme manifesté dans les rencontres ponctuelles. Mais ces initiatives jouent le rôle d’une caisse de résonance et contribuent à créer un sentiment communautaire, ce dont témoigne la presse spécialisée qui accompagne le mouvement. L’effet est très mobilisateur sur la base comme le montre, parmi d’autres exemples, le grand rassemblement contre Superphénix du 31 juillet 1977, marqué par la présence effective de militants allemands, suisses et italiens (environ 3 000 sur une participation totale estimée à 60 000). Mais cette journée marque aussi les limites de la coopération dans le camp des antinucléaires qui débutent la manifestation sans qu’une stratégie faisant l’unanimité ait été adoptée. De surcroît, l’État français hostile à l’idée d’un front uni parvient à le décrédibiliser en assimilant explicitement par la voix du préfet de l’Isère la présence des militants allemands à celle des occupants nazis.

Des connexions multiples

Une particularité du mouvement antinucléaire est qu’il s’inscrit en parallèle ou en continuation d’autres causes, elles aussi transnationales, qui lui fournissent une partie de son argumentaire et de son répertoire d’action. C’est bien sûr le cas des mouvements de protestation qui ont accompagné le développement des armes nucléaires, très actifs dans les décennies 1950 et 1960 en Angleterre et en RFA. C’est notamment par son intermédiaire que la question des dangers intrinsèques de la radioactivité est médiatisée. Les retombées mal maîtrisées lors des essais dans le Pacifique attirent l’attention de l’opinion publique sur les effets mutagènes des rayonnements ionisants, question qui cristallise alors les inquiétudes. Au-delà de ces craintes liées aux effets de la technologie sur la santé, les années 1968 apportent une vitalité qui ne peut être ignorée pour la compréhension de la dynamique du mouvement. La dimension anti-autoritariste est patente, il est par exemple frappant de constater à quel point des phénomènes comme l’objection de conscience et l’opposition au nucléaire se recoupent dans les parcours militants à l’échelle européenne. Largement partagé également le besoin de libération d’une parole considérée comme cadenassée par les tenants de la « technocratie », il pousse partout au développement d’organes de presse alternatifs, de radios libres, de nouvelles expériences syndicales ou libertaires. Le défi démocratique que représente la gestion d’un parc nucléaire civil fait par ailleurs l’objet d’enquêtes critiques à succès autant en France (P. Simmonot, Les nucléocrates, 1978) qu’en Allemagne (R. Jungk, L’État atomique, 1977). Enfin, la vague contre-culturelle parcourt aussi le mouvement à une échelle continentale à travers des phénomènes musicaux comme celui du revivalisme folk dont la dimension contestataire s’affiche dans le rejet des circuits habituels du show business. Il s’agrège particulièrement bien, selon un subtil jeu d’échelle, au mouvement antinucléaire qui possède aussi une dimension régionaliste reflétée par des groupes traditionnels comme Le Grand Rouge dans le massif Central, ou des folk singers comme Walter Mossmann dans l’aire alémanique, lorsqu’ils assurent l’animation des kermesses estivales caractéristiques du mouvement.

En faisant du mouvement antinucléaire un archétype des « nouveaux mouvement sociaux » dans sa Prophétie antinucléaire (1979), le sociologue Alain Touraine en livrait une première analyse alors même qu’il était en train se faire. Il voulait alors signifier l’entrée sur la scène politique du culturel au détriment des luttes politiques. Depuis, la pertinence de ce concept n’a cessé d’être discutée en sociologie et en histoire. L’approche transnationale, suscitée par le développement du champ historiographique des années 1968, invite à reconsidérer sa dynamique dans ce cadre chronologique, à effectuer une nouvelle pesée des « nouveautés » et des héritages qui l’ont traversé, et à mieux comprendre son essoufflement, mais aussi ses legs – pour l’écologie politique notamment – au tournant des années 1980.  

Bibliographie

Chambru, Mikael, « La protestation antinucléaire autour de Superphénix. Une analyse des dynamiques d’un espace public oppositionnel transnational », dans Corinne Doria et Gérard Raulet (dir.), L’espace public européen en question. Histoire et méthodologie, Bruxelles, Peter Lang, 2016, p. 193-210.

Kirchhof, Astrid, Meyer, Jan-Henrick, « Global Protest against Nuclear Power. Transfer and Transnational Exchange in the 1970s and 1980s » numéro spécial, Historical Social Research, vol. 39, n° 1, 2014.

Milder, Stephen, Greening Democracy : The Anti-Nuclear Movement and Political Environmentalism in West Germany and Beyond, 1968-1983, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 2017.

Tompkins, Andrew, Better Active than Radioactive ! Anti-Nuclear Protest in 1970s France and West Germany, Oxfrod, Oxford Historical Monographs, 2016.

Vrignon, Alexis, La naissance de l’écologie politique en France, une nébuleuse au cœur des années 68, Rennes, PUR, 2017.


Source URL: https://ehne.fr/encyclopedie/thématiques/écologies-et-environnements/idées-acteurs-et-pratiques-politiques/les-circulations-militantes-antinucléaires-dans-l’europe-des-années-1970